Going bonkers in Honkers

My blog posts are as scattered this year as my brain has been.

So lets just keep the random theme going a little longer shall we?

I am not sure I finished writing about Perth, one day I will write about my various trips to the Queensland Sunshine Coast, and my recent trip to the UK, but for now as my brain is going to explode with study and I am procrastinating, the going bonkers in Honkers theme seems most fitting 🙂

So this story takes place in Hong Kong where I may have even been this time last week, or was I in transit – honestly I have no clue!

I flew over to London by myself, so it was nice not only to fly back with my husband, but to break up the loooooong journey from London to Aus with a short 2 day stop over in Hong Kong.

20140730-164659.jpg

After staying in a cupboard for a week in London (ok slight exaggeration – but it was a very tiny place) we treated ourselves to a nice hotel in Hong Kong and well the roof top pool was a def selling point for me.

20140730-165609.jpg

It can be hard to be adventurous and want to explore a city, after a long flight, especially when you have booked an amazing hotel with a deluxe looking king size bed cruelly taunting you and luring you in to sleep with its soft fluffy cushions.

But what sort of traveller would I be if I caved in that easily!

Half excitedly, half reluctantly we showered got changed, had a sneaky quick swim and then set out to explore the city.

20140730-170129.jpg

20140730-170200.jpg

Lets be honest, when we looked at the map and discovered these gems our excitement was at an all time high.

Sadly we didn’t find this suburb or street, but we did find some equally amusing things…

20140730-170900.jpg

20140730-170918.jpg

I love travelling to find signs that amuse me, order food I have no idea what it is, jump on transport I don’t understand, using currency that is unfamiliar.

It’s an experience and I love every part of it.

20140730-172419.jpg

To raise my business profile, I am always trying new yoga poses and taking photos in various locations, as we were racing for our bus, I of course wanted my husband to take a quick photo of me.

This is the scene…

20140730-172635.jpg

20140730-172652.jpg

This is the story…

As I start to get into the pose, I had not considered the large volume of people walking the streets, the lights about to change, our bus about to depart to take us back to our hotel, to the bed we could hear calling us from several miles away.

So back to the pose; as I grab my foot a man appears behind me you know the back-end where I am wearing a dress, trying to lift my leg without showing him and the rest of Hong Kong my undies.

To the other side of me a man appears trying to sell me a handbag, while the man staring up my dress is saying yeeees nice pose –

My husband is yelling at me to hurry up as he takes the photos and someone is trying to sell him a watch at the same time.

Ah yes travelling, you love it or you hate it – simple as that!

I love it- the more bonkers the better 🙂

So this particular story ends here, it ends with two weary travelers collapsing into the most deluxe bed, this story ends with the best sleep I had had in a while, it probably snoring and maybe some dribbling…

It ends here and it continues soon, with a bad storm, so bad it was actually the tail end of a typhoon, it continues with a walk around Hong Kong, a man in DT’s and a swim that was not meant to be……

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on July 30, 2014, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

