3 hours in Kuta; a van full of midgets and the first shoe sale of the day

It’s been a few months now since going to Bali, and life has been hectic in a good way. Not in a ‘midget fun boxing’ hectic way but in a frantic throwing myself into life type-way.

We will get back to the midget fun boxing later, lets set the scene a little more first!

So my memories of our peaceful time in Ubud are as distant as the location itself, as I said life has been moving at a rapid pace similar to that of Kuta.

Kuta is busy, it is hectic, it is crude and it was stinking hot. Less than 5 minutes after arriving we craved the solitude of our previous place, we missed the refreshing breezes and the slower gentle pace to which we had been accustomed.

20140305-195455.jpg

That’s me sulking!

Two seconds after stepping foot onto the beach we were hassled by people coming from us at all angles trying to sell us one of everything.

Don’t get me wrong, Kuta can be a great, fun place to be, but it can also feel like you want to shrink into the background and pretend you are not Australian when you view so many of the drunken, shirtless, bogan Aussies being
grose.

20140305-200108.jpg

This is my husband who is not an Aussie or a bogan 🙂

It is a challenging experience trying to be patient and saying no to the endless stream of pushy sales people trying to make a living, this is their living after all. This is their culture and their way, yet even knowing this all it can be exhausting politely smiling and saying no every second down every street you turn.

20140305-200907.jpg

We found a moment of solitude, a coffee and a respite from the heat, and decided to make the most of our now two hours in Kuta.

20140309-174631.jpg

Me and my big hair! Darn overseas humidity, my traveling nemesis!

20140309-174805.jpg

So caffeinated, momentarily cooled and calm off we set in search of a bargain, where we purchased a pair of shoes each and received a discount for being the first sale of the day – apparently it’s lucky!

You call that lucky – try finding these hidden gems at the front of the store.

20140309-175356.jpg

We didn’t buy them but I was pretty excited when the man let me take that winning photo.

We walked out of the shop, and couldn’t believe our luck when a van with the sign “midget fun boxing” began to approach.

As I scrambled for my camera my husband stood nearby, saying something to me, that I couldn’t hear over my excitement to capture yet another winning shot!

20140309-175817.jpg

Two seconds after capturing this, things were being thrown at me from the van. What I honestly didn’t realize was the van was filled with the midget fun boxers, I was shooting into the sun and truly didn’t see them, the first I realized they were there was when a van full of midgets were throwing things at me.

Now that’s an experience I never expected in my three hours in Kuta.

20140309-180308.jpg

At least someone still cared – the pub cares for you pub was open but this ordeal had made me hungry so we set out for some bloody fckin cold beer and found that and much much more …..

20140309-180528.jpg

You will need to zoom in close to ensure you capture everything that this sign above has to offer.

20140309-180733.jpg

Two and a half hours of walking the streets of Kuta had left my feet like that, so the last half an hour was spent washing my feet like this ….

20140309-180902.jpg

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on March 1, 2014, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

