It’s bloody hard to find a taxi in Bali

-I started this post a few days ago I think!? that’s the thing about travelling; hours can feel like seconds, days like weeks, time has the ability to both fly by and stand still –

Yesterday was spent walking for miles, with no fixed destination on a journey of discovery and adventure.

As always I was not disappointed by taking those side hidden streets, where tourists avoid and the real country is revealed.

20140126-151438.jpg

20140126-151447.jpg

20140126-151458.jpg

20140126-151509.jpg

20140126-151542.jpg

Anyone who has ever been to Bali will know the title of this post is utter bollocks. When in reality every 4-5 metres stands another guy holding a taxi sign – saying taxi – no sir ok how about tomorrow…..

You either choose to get annoyed, or you smile politely and move on, again and again and again.

On our journey we found a young girl wielding a knife, guys welding with no safety clothing, school kids riding motorbikes, roundabouts made of a pile of rocks in the centre of an intersection dogs lying in the middle of the road, the most amazing food in both taste and price, and massages so cheap it would be a crime not to have one every day.

20140126-151657.jpg

20140126-151742.jpg

20140126-151845.jpg

20140126-152051.jpg

On our journey I once again fell in love with Bali, the beautiful people, the beautiful scenery, the ridiculous juxtaposition of chaos and serenity.

On our journey I remembered my distrust for those seemingly cute monkeys, as one second after arriving into the monkey forest, I put my phone down for half a second and a monkey came running over to steal it or take family portraits I will never know as my lightening fast reflexes ensured I got to my camera first.

20140126-154652.jpg

20140126-154705.jpg

20140126-154715.jpg

So as I finish this I laze on a couch it is day 3 I think and I am not sure if I just have explained day 1 or day 2 but I am happy, I am in Bali and I am doing what I love traveling and exploring.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 26, 2014, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

