The sounds of nature

Yesterday I awoke after only a few hours sleep, falling asleep to the sounds of torrential rain. I would be lying if I didn’t say the sound of rain in the morning made a tiny bit sad.

My sadness quickly turned to excitement as light starting pouring through the windows I viewed from my 4 pillar Balinese bed.

20140125-100051.jpg

I leapt out of bed, threw back the curtains and stared in disbelief, my heart caught in its chest for behind the curtains is my view for the next few days; a few that is made up of a lush dense jungle, the sound of rain is actually running rapids running below.

20140125-100201.jpg

If this was outside my window, what else would be outside my door.

20140125-100752.jpg

20140125-100834.jpg

20140125-100847.jpg

In true Balinese style lighting is kept to a minimum, so as we arrived at 1am this morning, everything was shrouded in darkness.

20140125-100941.jpg

Our first night was spent running around the room, shrieking with delight then promptly collapsing in our large and ridiculously comfortable bed.

As my husband sensibly kept sleeping in the morning, that’s not how I roll, so after just a few hours sleep, my heart was beating against my chest, the thought of waiting to explore our hotel until he woke was clearly not an option.

20140125-101102.jpg

20140125-101139.jpg

As I set out of my hotel room, I was greeted by a smiling Balinese man (not right outside my door – that would be a little creepy) as I explored further I realized the only sounds I could hear were nature and the beating of my heart.

20140125-101259.jpg

20140125-101311.jpg

20140125-101354.jpg

Everywhere I turned more beauty surrounded me threatening to wrap me in its arms so tightly I may burst.

Balinese men walk around laying pink hibiscus plants on the pathways and stone statues.

When I discovered a cave with hot natural springs, a spa and sauna surrounded by statues and beautiful fresh flowers I almost exploded.

I ran back to our room, trying to “accidentally” make as much noise as I could to wake my husband up, but as he continued to sleep I sat on my verandah, with my coffee and my book.

Not a bad way to pass the time.

20140125-101518.jpg

While squirrels run in the trees, weird animals make weird noises, and phallic things hang in trees.

20140125-101648.jpg

I felt like I was caught up in a beautiful bizarre dream, and this was just the beginning.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 25, 2014, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

