The complacent traveller learns a lesson.

She will probably forget again, this complacent traveller, but arriving into Denpasar to try to purchase an entry visa with no money, we once again said to ourselves – next time we travel we should really do some research first.

Lets jump back a few hours though, we arrived at the airport miraculously on time, as the rain poured steadily in Brisbane, less than half an hour after we arrived at the airport, most of the roads then were closed or conjested due to flash flooding or accidents.

20140124-135434.jpg

We celebrated our good fortune with a sneaky airport drink only to then discover our plane was delayed.

Whaaaaat!!!

20140124-135637.jpg

To commiserate we of course had another drink and took a range of selfies.

Who wouldn’t!

Why our plane was delayed we weren’t sure, but we were getting a little worried when another plane was delayed due to flooding in the back gully, now I don’t know a lot about planes, but I am pretty sure it’s not a great sign if water is coming in.

We board the plane and somewhere between 3 wines, a spicy vegetarian curry, some turbulence and a power nap later a wave of nausea washed over me.

Seriously who on earth gets ill before even arriving to Bali?

The moment passed, I ah kept everything in, then set a new world record for the most amount of sneezes at one time – no joke – I think there were at least 20 of them.

Anyho back to our arrival, we follow the stream of tourists where we end up in line to pay a visa fee. We are told cash only – hmm this could be a challenge as we didn’t have any.

No problem she says, you go to ATM over there, which we do, we try all four of them at least twice each to no avail.

We walk back to the counter where we explain our situation to a different guy, no problem he says you just use card…..

Ok, that information would certainly have been useful earlier.

As I start to worry about our luggage being left unattended – we ask for a pen to sign our card, the man asks his colleagues for a pen ….. is….

As they all roll around laughing hysterically, we are still pen less, haven’t got close to clearing customs and who knows what is happening with our luggage outside those doors.

Yes my friends we had arrived!

I need not have worried as we walk out to our carousel not moving and the floor littered with tourists waiting patiently (ish) and the porters waiting to earn a buck.

20140124-140743.jpg

20140124-140952.jpg

The carousel finally starts moving, for about a minute and a half when all the luggage then gets stuck, it moves it gets stuck, you get my drift.

When our luggage comes it is as though it had just fallen in a pond- welcome to the rainy season in Bali.

This is Bali, this is chaos, this is what we love.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 24, 2014, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

