The more I travel, the more complacent I become.

I do believe the more you travel (or the more I travel) the more relaxed and complacent I become.

The jury is still out on whether this is a good or bad thing, but as I type this at 11:30am and need to leave home at 2:30pm to pick up my husband to head to the airport, I am mostly packed, thinking about all the things I still need to do, I start to wonder perhaps I should be just a little more organised.

As I ponder, I know the next trip and the one after that will be the exact same way……

Who am I kidding?

It is now 1pm and after chatting on the phone to a friend, having my mum over for a coffee and reading a blog story that could have waited to be read, I am back and still no closer to being ready than I was before.

Something about being such a relaxed traveller has inadvertently made me how shall I say –Β a tad stupid.

When things become so natural to you, it then has a tendency to make you forgetful.

How many times do you lock your car door, walk away and go – cr@p did I lock that, I will just run back and check!

Come on, I know that’s not just me πŸ™‚

Likewise I have become “that” traveller who does things so frequently I now have a slight moment of stupid panic a few hours before a trip where I run around the house yelling to myself – what the frick am I meant to do?

How do I use my phone overseas, what money do I need, what should I be doing before I leave.

I have precisely 5 minutes of this panicked frenzy, then I think, meh it will all just work out, I sit down and do something that doesn’t need to be done at that moment, I procrastinate a little longer then an hour before I need to leave, I stroll around doing whatever it is I need to do, convincing myself that I have remembered everything and that so long as I have my passport, bikini and credit card everything will be ok.

Yes I am that complacent and ridiculous.

So my friends, I shall sign off now, to eat some lunch, clean my house, do whatever it is you are meant to do before you go away and I shall talk to you all soon from my holiday location πŸ™‚

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 23, 2014, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lol! I do the exact same damn thing. I leave for Ireland on Tuesday, then not sure if I’m going to Mongolia or Africa from there… probably need to pack differently for those places… I should also probably start thinking about packing for Ireland…

    Good luck with your next trip!

    • Haha yes I tell myself I will be different next time, but I know I wont πŸ™‚ There is something frustrating and awesome about all these little hiccups :0
      thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚ good luck for your next trip too

Leave a Reply

