Fuck you Murphy and your unfair law!

Of course if you are going to get an upset stomach on any day in your 4 week holiday it’s going to be on the one day you are going on an hour boat ride, followed by a 4 – 5 hour bus ride with no toilets.

Fuck you Murphy – who were you anyway, and why did you create such a horrible law?

This morning I left the beautiful Hvar, something was wrong it wasn’t just the heartache I felt at leaving, there was an ache somewhere else in the pit of my tummy.

As my stomach started to rumble I thought back to last nights dinner, and wondered why I had a mussel risotto when the last time I ate mussels I was violently ill.

Yes this is holiday Lou (well Lou in general) act first, think later. When will I ever learn?

I jumped into the amazing water one last time thinking if anything will make me feel better that will, threw my wet bikini into my suitcase & jumped on a boat to Split (that’s the name of the place).

As the boat rocked from side to side and up and down I closed my eyes and was grateful for my yoga deep breathing techniques.

I opened my eyes and again cursed Murphy’s law then promptly shut them again.

Disembarking the boat was slow and hectic, little did I know that was nothing compared to what was to come.

As the tourists pile off the boat the scramble for the luggage begins, by then I couldn’t care where my luggage is, just get me off this fricken boat I scream inside my head.

We find our luggage my motions are intact 🙂 next challenge find a bus to take us to Dubrovnik.

We cross the road with 5000 other tourists and we push and we shove and we find a ticket place where we get served by an angry man who makes us miss two busses and puts us on the 1:30 one – no worries we only have one and a half days in Dubrovnik what’s the big deal if we spend another hour or so at some crappy bus place.

There are not many instances when I get angry; when I get frightened (like when my husband squealed like a girl and almost threw me out of bed the other night as his leg cramped and I got scared then angry) and when I am sick.

So when I had to pay to use the toilet, someone was in my way and the toilet paper had run out – I suddenly found myself swearing like a trooper.

Not my finest moment.

Finally time to board the bus, where the man taking our luggage demands more money when we ask why he grunts something in Croatian, I fight to keep my anger at bay while I sip on my lemonade telling myself I can survive this bus journey.

Ironically the same man now speaks English perfectly, but hey if these things didn’t happen what would I have to blog about.

So here I am 26 minutes into my journey, clogged up with tablets to hopefully last the journey, retreating to my happy place by thinking about how beautiful Hvar was, wondering if I should draw on my sleeping husbands face for amusement.

I am thinking that Murphy is an asshole, but this is traveling and this is what I love and I of course wouldn’t have it any other way.

20130807-193439.jpg

20130807-193453.jpg

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on August 7, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

