Sleep – what is that when on holidays ??

No sooner had my head hit the pillow, my alarm was cruelly shrieking at me to get up again.

After not even 3 hours sleep, the noise of the alarm sent me into a mild panic, and as I jumped out of bed, I instantly felt sick from the rush of blood to my head.

The cab ride to the airport was nauseating; the lack of sleep and strong smell of curry at 3:45am on a Monday was a little too much to deal with.

Whining aside, as I type it is now 5:50am I am sitting on a plane (with my husband this time) there is a beautiful sunrise to my right and I am on my way to Croatia.

Sleep – meh who needs it?

Well if you looked at the dark circles under my eyes you might say me, but I believe life is too short not to fill it to the brim with fun and adventure.

So off I head for more fun and adventure, bound for Split, then to a place called Hvar where the weather forecast is 37 degrees, it is national victory day and a public holiday so fingers crossed we can actually get to where we need to, but that’s all part of the adventure right??

I was so tired on the plane I purchased a coffee and proceeded to fall asleep with coffee in hand.

From the airport we head to the bus to the port to a stupidly large ferry where I sit on her top deck now iPad in my lap and I silently beg the ferry to start moving to get some sort of breeze in the stifling heat I am currently sitting in.

There is of course air conditioning downstairs but that’s not in the fresh air and how could I possibly take photos through the window – ah my poor patient Husband.

Oh yay we are moving – I thought it was the tiredness making my head funny again….

I look around the ferry a massive range of people some ambivalent or tired, the shirts have come off instantly and the tanning begins, not me I was not nearly clever enough to think to put my bikini on so early in the morning.

I look around again as suitcases are opened, wardrobes are changed, sunscreen is put on and the holiday adventure for many begins.

For me, this is the adventure I have been waiting for – while it’s only 4 days its already feeling like a holiday, a holiday I so desperately craved.

20130806-101241.jpg

20130806-101259.jpg

From split to Stari Grad the ferry arrives there is a mad rush off the ferry, we are not really sure why, but what can you do but just get swept up in the tide and see where it takes you.

This particular journey took us straight to a waiting bus, the sign on the Front said Hvar – thsts convenient we thought – right where we want to go.

As I joined the pushing mob, Ami went to ask if it goes to Hvar town, yes said the man before he even finished his question, and with that our suitcase is grabbed out of his hand thrown onto a bus we may or may not even fit on.

He pushes through the bus and I struggle to not get trampled.

So my suitcase in under the bus, my husband is on the bus and I am not even near the bus, struggling to remain upright in an eager pushing crowd.

So this part of the story ends well, I am on the bus next to my husband bound for who knows where but hopefully in the vicinity of where we want to go.

The sea behind me is the most amazing colour, and I just wish the bus would start moving to get me to my destination, so I could be looking at this

20130806-101536.jpg

Rather than this

20130806-101621.jpg

As I stared at the hairy backed man shaking his armpit juices all over the poor girl sitting underneath, I smiled at the crazy life of the traveller.

Armpit juices, hairy backs it’s all part of the experience.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on August 6, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

