2 days in Amsterdam

A 4 hour sleep on a friends couch in London I am awaking at 4:30am for a cab to pick me up.

I am about to fly to Amsterdam after returning from Israel a lot later than I would have liked the night before.

Crazy fun traveller or stupidly insane, I will let you be the judge of that.

Lack of sleep for lets face it, the majority of this trip (for 2 weeks so far) had rendered me a little stupid- left my bag in the toilet, packed who knows what into a tiny backpack (packing the only clean clothes left after a week in Israel) a series of calamities on the flight later, my friend and I arrived in Amsterdam realizing we had no idea where we were going or how to speak the language or get anywhere, so like the excited random adventurers we got on a train bound to somewhere……

We found out the tram we needed to take then realized we didn’t know if we were even on a tram line or which direction to go.

20130802-081441.jpg

20130802-081506.jpg

20130802-081559.jpg

After consulting our map that didn’t help one bit we asked a lovely pregnant lady and jumped on a tram where the nice conductor gave us a free ride and we arrived at the fashion hotel.

20130802-082154.jpg

20130802-082207.jpg

20130802-082220.jpg
After taking a series of silly pics in the hotel off we went to explore the city.

First stop food – of course!

That’s what I love about traveling, looking at a menu that makes no sense to you, ordering something and waiting for the culinary surprise at the end.

20130802-082459.jpg

Amsterdam is a truly beautiful city with interesting architecture, beautiful canals and a haven for keen photographers like me, so as the rain started to fall I decided I would return again with my good camera and capture the city once more.

Well if it raining what can you do but go indoors, so off we headed to the Heineken tour – amazing!

20130802-082558.jpg

20130802-082608.jpg

20130802-082616.jpg

20130802-082625.jpg

Two hours and three beers later in the tour we set out once more in search of food, after trying raw herring for lunch we had no idea what we should try for dinner.

One thing was for sure, must take as many ridiculous photos as we can on the way.

20130802-082846.jpg

After seeing the Canal cruises sign and taking the pic above I gave myself the giggles for well the rest of my time in Amsterdam!
After hitting some bars (and eating of course) it was time to hit the red light district.

After getting a little lost I asked a man in a hotel where it is was – just to check it out I say all flustered hehe.

After walking around the red light district and a 23 hour day later we headed home and collapsed into bed.

I would like to say what happens in red light district stays in the red light district but after what I saw I just couldn’t do that to you all – so watch this space …..

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on August 2, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. well written … lovely pics of the canals.

Leave a Reply

