3 strangers, a cabin in the woods, and a limbo under an electric fence

Saturday I woke up at 3am in a rustic cabin with three girls I had met only 9 hours before.

It was cold, the wind was howling against the windows, the rain had been falling relentlessly all night.

20130528-130843.jpg

20130528-130903.jpg

I needed the toilet, but as there was no toilet in the cabin that meant a trek through the wilderness, with who knows what Australian wildlife lurking and to get out of my warm cosy bed was not an ideal option!

After several failed arguments with my head, I remembered my pact with my new room mate friends, one needs the toilet – we all go!

20130528-144630.jpg

That was me when it was still relatively warm ….

So off we went in our pajamas, ugg boots and 500 jackets wondering if we really did need the toilet or the only reason was the inconvenience that makes you need to go when a toilet is not close by!

There is something extremely frustrating yet exciting about this type of situation – getting back to nature and away from modern conveniences.

The lack of modern conveniences amazing, the battling wildlife and walking to the the toilet not my ultimate getaway, but an adventure non the less.

20130528-151158.jpg

20130528-151229.jpg

20130528-151239.jpg

So why was I staying in a cabin in the wilderness making toilet pacts with strangers you ask?

I was on a yoga retreat in Northern New South Wales. It was cold and it was energizing.

Exploring the country side, and reconnecting with myself.

Exploring movement and exploring new possibilities.

Exploring the beautiful countryside, walking aimlessly, climbing mountains, crawling and limboing under electric fences and trying not to step in gigantic cow poo – all huge achievements if you ask me.

20130528-152808.jpg

We arrived at the top of the mountain – me and my toilet buddies, un-electrocuted, and shit free. I planked on a wood full of insects and we walked back down, ready for more yoga.

20130528-152959.jpg

20130528-153011.jpg

20130528-153034.jpg

An experience, an adventure,goals set and achieved – my favorite things!

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on May 28, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hilarious! I’ve forwarded to the other girls you shared with!

    Amy Booth http://www.fitnessbooth.com.au 0466 579 708

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

