Are you just lucky or do you create your own luck ?

I’m not going to lie with so much rain in Brisbane of late a part of me – the adventurous fun part got washed away with the rain.

I have said it numerous times – I am solar charged – and this tiny machine was running on empty.

So this week when my iphone predicted sun for Thursday, I refused to accept any other possible scenario than that.

A fool proof plan or foolish – let’s not answer that right now!

So each day I stared at that little yellow icon indicating sun and I believed with all my heart it would be true.

Yes I just read that back and know how ridiculous I sound 🙂

Yet when it’s been raining this darn much you got to hold on to hope or all your sanity floods and washes away.

So the big day arrived – Thursday – the day of sun!

I had made plans to go to the beach, I packed my bikini in my bag the night before, I even made an 8:30am appointment down the coast – to give me the rest of the day to play – that was the strength of my conviction.

I awoke hesitantly at first – you know one eye then the other – banging the snooze buttons a few times. Then the moment of truth I flung open the curtains my eyes flew wide open in anticipation my heart rate was quickening but it was dark, my heart sank a million depths.

Then i thought – Hold on I haven’t opened the curtains properly – frick! Oh the stress, can my nerves handle this again 🙂

Take two – I flung open the curtains properly this time and I was greeted with a brilliant bright
cloud-less blue sky.

Am I lucky or did I create this magical day with everything that I have – who will ever know.

What I do know is a friend said to me today ” you create your own luck” and I really believe this to be true.

So half way down the gold coast it started to rain lightly at first then really heavily, I looked over longingly at my little neglected bikini and I realised it may be neglected a bit longer yet.

I drove on had my meetings, went to see a friend and the rain had stopped. I actually felt sun on my skin and it was seeping into my soul, solar charging my spirits.

We took my friends boat out for a quick spin – when the weather has been so bad for so long you are a fool to waste a second of sunshine, you quickly appreciate the clouds when the rain is not falling out of them.

We were only on the boat for about 20 minutes in total – but we were lucky enough to see about 12- 15 dolphins, a sight I will never tire of, a sight that has be squealing like a child with pure undisguised delight.

So excited was I that I failed to even take photos as the dolphins were almost close enough to touch – not quite but closer than I have come to them in a long while.

Who am I ? And how long has it been raining?

Australia – the lucky country!

Or a country filled with people like me grabbing small opportunities whenever they present themselves to explore to live to love and to dream. People like me who despite everything, despite their frustrations along the way, remain optimistic that the sun will always shine again, people like me who get rewarded for doing what makes them happy.

So my travelling friends, my friends who love adventure, who love living in the moment and experiencing as much of life as you can.

Get out there create your own luck, create the moments that create the memories that last forever.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on March 7, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

