A frustrating itch I can’t scratch.

I am sitting in my relaxation room having a moment of time out.

20130216-143215.jpg

Half an hour earlier I did a good ole fashioned bake off – me and my conflicted emotions 🙂

I cook to distract me from my frustrations. Normally I exercise but my body will barely move after physical training last week.

Today this was me- or a tired, sooky, frustrated version of me.

20130216-144518.jpg

I am aching for a holiday it is in my blood! It is a scratch I just can’t itch, a thirst I just can’t quench. This is nothing new – its just at times this urge is more intense than other times. It feels stronger, it feels like it is suffocating me.

Being the type of person who wants to experience every little thing the world has to offer and being restricted my money (as the majority of us are) at times feels hard.

Today we went to a travel expo where I had convinced myself we would be walking away with a flight booked for our overseas trip later in the year, and was sure we would have found a cheap fare to go somewhere over Easter.

Sadly this was not to be and I kind of lost the plot a little bit.

As the rain falls steadily outside I think back to last weekend when I was at the beach- solar charging my batteries and my soul for the second time that week.

20130216-150036.jpg

I lie in my room listening to the rain, thinking of a holiday and as the frustrations start to fade – I start to plan my Easter break.

I look at that picture of me, tanned, summery, and alive and my frustrations fade – this was me in my beautiful Australia, it’s not a new location but it fuels my soul with happiness each and every time I visit the beach.

So here I sit now calm, more well fed that I needed to be today, blissfully planning a short mini break for Easter, a cheap holiday close to home and I remember that all of life can be a beautiful happy adventure when we are open to new and different ideas.

The itch remains, but rather than a frustrating irritation, I use it as a gentle reminder to keep me alert to keep me focused not on the scratching, but of the creative ways I can alleviate this itch. Of the various more cost effective ways I can quench this never ending thirst for adventure.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on February 16, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

