Australia Day

Yesterday was Australia Day – we Aussies love to celebrate by throwing a snag  on the barbie,  we chuck on our thongs, sunnies, boardies  and our togs,  we get on it and we drink,  we cheers our mates , we act like yobbos and we celebrate!

Too right we do! Bloody Oath!

It’s ace, bonza, grouse, or tops – depending on which state in Australia you are from.

To my overseas readers have I lost you yet? Yep we have our own unique language – we are who we are, we are proud and we are strong, we have our faults we have our own made up words we are Aussies hear us roar.

We need no excuse – we drink, we play, we love the outdoors, we love adventure, we love to explore.

Aussie Aussie Aussie oi oi oi!

Australia is a large diverse country……..

I started typing this on sunday and this is as far I got,  as shortly after I started typing, my house, my street and half of Queensland lost power – the result of a cyclone name Oswald.

For more on the cyclone that caused my power outage and the on-going destruction to my state -please click here – first world problems.

Last week Australia experienced flooding, cyclones, tornadoes, torrential rain and bush fires.

Just to reiterate where I was going with my country being so large and diverse!

Australia Day was wet windy and gloomy yet I see pictures of my friends on home-made waterslides, swimming and playing in the rain. Nothing can stop a good Aussie party or BBQ. It is hard to crush our enthusiasm!

We may not really ride kangaroos to work like we sometimes tell foreigners we do and drop bears may drop out of trees when you least expect it. We have snakes, spiders, crocodiles, sharks just to name a few but what we have in abundance is Aussie spirit!

When times get tough, when push comes to shove we pull together as a community and that is just one of the many reasons I love to call Australia home.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 26, 2013, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

