Nepal

We flew into Nepal and then hiked around the Kathmandu Valley.  I was a little unwell from our recent visit to India, and again tested the bonds of my marriage by having making my husband hold up a sarong while I took care of some toilet business in the wilderness!

My strongest memories of Nepal are the beautiful kind locals we encountered along the way, friendly kids, random goats and pigs, and that feeling of hiking for ages with nothing but rolling hills suddenly we would appear in tiny villages filled with life,  where on one occasion we even heard Beyonce blaring from a tiny radio.  I remember the strength of the women carrying huge bundles of things on their heads and the lush greenery constantly surrounding us.

We hiked all day arrived at night and fell into a deep sleep, we awoke to the feeling that we were on the edge of the world, and judging by the high mountain, the vast expanse of rolling hills in front of us and the sheer drop from our balcony it confirmed our theory nicely.

We spent a day relaxing and chilling, drinking on rooftop bars and my brother ordered chicken for dinner and we laughed for about an hour when we received this.

Kathmandu is an amazing town filled with markets and shops and the most amazing cheap breakfast place, that I sadly only got to enjoy once, as I spent most of my time sick in our hotel, luckily my husband, and two brothers made up for my lack of appetite by visiting this place every single day we were there and reminding me just how much I was missing out on every single fricken time they returned.

That’s the thing about traveling shit happens – literally at times – and you need to roll with it and deal with it as best you can. There is no use everyone missing out as my brother knows only too well when we were India and left him in a skanky motel room while we explored the town for a day.

Back to Nepal, the food was tasty, the people friendly, the scenery incredible and my desire to return is strong. I glance back at these photos and I remember the simple lifestyles, the smiles on people’s faces, and again I question our need for so many possessions, and material things in our lives.

Despite being sick, my memories are of feeling carefree and alive (even if i was a little too skinny for my liking)  Kathmandu is a tourist town, and normally for me that can be a turn-off, Kathmandu however is different its a town that reeks of adventure and despite my illness this excitement has remained with me.

Nepal you gave me a small sample of what you have to offer and one day I will be back for more.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on April 25, 2012, in NEW POSTS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yeah indeed you can be back anytime there are so many things to do and explore!You know Nepal’s slogan’Once is not enough’

  2. Reblogged this on travelwyse.

Leave a Reply

