5 of my most beautiful travelling experiences

All my travelling experiences are beautiful and memorable and it’s hard to try to narrow it down to just five, yet when faced with the question this week of ‘what are your most beautiful travelling experiences’? I really tried to put some thought into this and here is what I came up with:

Being in a bungalow in Koh Phangan-Thailand one of those rustic bungalows that jutted out over the ocean, we were listening to music and quietly contemplating our view, our holiday and our happiness when Jack Johnson’s song Bubbly Toes came on. My brother and I just started dancing on our tiny rickety verandah overlooking the ocean, we threw our arms in the air and we screamed out the words to that song, and I have never felt so alive and joyous. I remember this happiness so vividly when I hear that song and I feel as though I am instantly transported back to that moment in time.

Sitting in the jungle of Sumatra by myself I remember listening to the Lion King  2 soundtrack on my Walkman (yes it was that long ago) my friend was writing in her diary nearby, and as I sat there by myself I stared into the water I felt so at peace with the world and my life.  A little local girl wandered over to me and came and sat next to me.  We didn’t speak we just smiled at each other and stared into the water with the lush dense jungle surrounds. Those unspoken words and smiles said more to me than many other conversations I have had in my life.

Visiting Rome overwhelmed me, the size of the structures, the history, the remains that are still withstanding the tests of time.  Rome demands an audience, its presence is immense.  Rome is filled with beauty and mystique. Rome lured me in with its charm from the minute I arrived, and after only three days there, it had captured my heart completely.

San Cristobal de las Casas- Mexico – ah just the name of it makes me fall in love all over again, the way that name rolls of the tongue and the beautiful memories that come with this name.  We sat in a bar one night, listening to a live band that literally moved me to tears, the ambience of this place was surreal.  As I cried into my wine glass, I felt such a rush of feelings that I thought I might actually explode.

Lastly (but only last as I said I would mention only 5) I may have to keep revisiting and adding to this topic.

A long weekend in Cairns-Australia where a group of us stayed in a house right by a lake.  Being away from the city there were no lights around,  we got to the house, had some wine, and then walked down towards the lake.  It was freezing cold so I wrapped myself up in a blanket and looked like a wild bear, we took our torches (flashlights) to guide our way and we of course took our wine glasses.  We sat on the grass and watched the moon turn the lake into a glittering silver pond, then we laid on the grass and looked up at the stars.  The sky was a dark blanket of glowing stars and I lost count of the amount of shooting stars that shot across the sky that night. I felt as though the entire universe had conspired to show me how powerful and beautiful it really is.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on April 15, 2012, in NEW POSTS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Schwarz,
    Do come in Nepal and give your emotions in words. I assure you can’t stop words to explain…………..

    • Hi thanks for checking out my blog, I have visited Nepal only briefly but the short time I was there I loved it, the people were so friendly and beautful and I will definately return there one day. You have just remined me of all the lovely memories i have and I will write a story about it soon. I look forward to checking out your blog.

      • Thank you very very much.Always welcoming you in Nepal.Please do visit once again not in brief little detail.Write a story and take lots of photos.

  2. A Blizzard??!!?

Leave a Reply

