Memories of India

When my mind returns to India, my memories are a jumbled chaotic mess.  A vivid imagery of colourful sari’s, vibrant happy children running barefoot and carefree interspersed with quiet adults sitting on the road wise looking men casually observing the world go by, crisp  ironed clothes adorned by people sitting in dirt.

As  one of my previous emails suggests India is a giant juxtaposition of images, of emotions and of my memories.

The Juxtaposition that is India (added 19.12.09)

It is easy for me to understand why people may find too intense, India contradicts most of what we know and understand.  India defies logic.  How do they get those clothes so clean in such dirty conditions?  How did I not get electrocuted when children threw water bombs at my head – inches from where live wires hung down?  How do they appear so happy when they appear to have so little?

The questions and thoughts continued with me the entire trip – it seems that every time you turn your head another twenty questions appear.

The chaotic scenes, the seemingly disregard for road and personal safety!  The value of a human life compared to that of a sacred cow!  The strength of the women, the sense of pride and humbleness.

The list of unanswered is questions continues to grow and I believe the answer to the traveller entering India, is simply not to question.

Don’t get caught up in trying to understand India.  India is what it is!  Interpret India how you will, love it or hate it, I believe India is an amazing country filled with experiences and lessons, heartbreak and humour.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on March 25, 2012, in NEW POSTS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

