A holiday break

Not sure if you are like me, but your holiday “break” is never actually a break.

My holidays are spent racing around, trying to cram in as much into a few weeks as I possibly can.

Sometimes what we really need the most is an actual break, a chance to slow down, to refresh and recharge.

As appealing as these holidays are to me when I am working myself into the ground week after week, why do I still always choose the holiday that involves doing the most amount of things, in the least amount of time?

If you are anything like me, the lead up to your holiday is a week or two of utter chaos, working longer hours, meeting up with friends before you leave and running yourself into the ground, convincing yourself that you can keep pushing yourself as you will soon  be on a holiday.

The first few days of your break are spent in a haze of exhausted excitement, the last few days an exhausted sadness knowing that your adventure is about to end.

As the end of each trip, I return knowing I should have booked my return flight home a few days earlier, giving me a chance to recover before I head back to work, at the beginning when I am planning each trip I know I never will.

In between our holidays breaks, it is important to give yourself a break, a break from your normal life, a holiday from the chaos.

Say no more, stop trying to do everything on the weekend, relax, holiday in your own garden, your local parks, local beach.

Treat yourself on your weekends, to having a break, a holiday before your next holiday. A true holiday break! Easier said than done I know when lifes demands get in the way, but a dream worth fighting for whenever we can.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on February 19, 2012, in NEW POSTS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

