MY DROWNING CITY

How do I explain what is in my heart right now.  I am sitting at home on my couch with my eyes glued to the tv, I remain here transfixed as I have been all day. 

My husband is by my side, we are together, yet we barely speak, both lost in our thoughts, consumed with a sadness and bewilderment we have never experienced before. Neither of us have gone into work today, the Brisbane CBD is shut down, an eerie ghost town with power cut off and water rising.

Our city is rapidly disappearing before our eyes, a city engulfed in water, water that is still rising! 75% of my state is a disaster zone, a disaster many of us have never witnessed so close to home in our lifetimes. We have been watching the flooding around the state over the last few weeks,with heavy hearts, and now it is on our doorstep.

Do I have the right to feel so devastated and sad, when I sit here on my dry couch with a house that is not underwater, in my suburb unlikely to flood?

As the images coming from the tv flash before my eyes, I feel an overwhelming sense of guilt, of uselessness and despair.  I know some of my friends are losing everything  and I can’t do a thing to help, as roads are cut off I am isolated and helpless.

My city is drowning, but my city is strong, our people are tough, our people are kind and generous.  Australians are tough and genuine and somehow that makes this situation better and worse all at the same time. 

How can you not be moved to tears, seeing people from your home town being so selfless in the face of such a tragedy?   Queenslanders are pitching in and helping out others when many have their own dramas to contend with.

My emotions are running high I feel proud to be an Aussie, I feel an incomprehensible sadness for all the people in my state affected by these floods, either by losing loved ones, or losing their homes and possessions, I feel bewildered and useless, I want to do more, to give more.

On my cities darkest day (in my lifetime so far) the sky has been blue for the first time in a month, as I write this now, after some more heavy rain, the sun is now shining and setting, bringing an eerie brightness to a very dark day.

With our floods said to only get worse overnight my thoughts go out to everyone affected.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 12, 2011, in NEW POSTS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

