POWER OF THE MIND

It is amazing how far you can go in life with a little bit of self belief.  I have just started on a new journey in my life; becoming a group fitness instructor.  The moves I can learn easily, performing them in front of a group of people does not faze me, yet until last Friday I had a huge road block slowing my progress.

My mind!  My lack of belief in myself!  My lack of confidence!

The minute I put on the microphone, the words would come out in a robotic unconfident way.  I felt exposed, I felt the burden of stuffing up and I started to feel as though I would never become a great instructor.

The pressure I was putting on myself was immense, and I realised that the more you doubt yourself the less you will ever succeed.  However on friday something changed, a fog lifted from my mind and I thought to myself, what is the worst that can happen, I make a little mistake and I move on.  How hard can that be?  I am doing something I love, and hopefully spending an hour improving someones day by clearing their mind and improving their fitness.  I should be feeling great about myself.

I put a little faith in myself, believed I was capable and good at what I do and the second I began to tell myself this, I completely believed it and the rest just naturally followed.  My speaking was clearer, my personality shone through and the magic just happened.

The power of our minds should not be taken for granted.  Life opens many doors when we are willing to believe in ourselves, and it makes sense to me that you can’t expect people to believe in you if you are unable to believe in yourself.  Would you invest in a project you know is going to fail?

Why should the universe give us opportunities if we do not believe we are even worthy of receiving them?   The minute we override our self-doubt, love and believe in ourselves anything really is possible and we are capable of greatness.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on July 25, 2010, in NEW POSTS. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great post, Lou 🙂

Leave a Reply

