STREET WALKER (added 21.06.10)

Yesterday I was lucky enough to walk the streets of New York with some family friends who have lived in New York their whole lives, we walked the streets for hours with them obtaining a unique insight into the history of the area, knowledge that I would never have received on a tour and definitely not from any guide-book. 

Having the chance to walk like this, gives you the opportunity to stop and study the most intricate parts of the city, to read the inscriptions on the buildings, to try to sneak at the underground walkways and basements and to learn that in parts of the east village houses have numbers and half numbers as there is another row of houses hidden away from street level.

The Prada shop building cost 1.3 million dollars to fit out the shop’s interior only to have a fire destroy it and it being rebuilt for the same price. While the shop is definately unique, it amazes me that so much money can be spent on such a thing when we have so many starving and homeless people in the world.  As we walked I looked around at all the people with their shopping bags, and the diners spilling out into the street from every cafe and contemplate just how much money would be spent in this city each day?

We walked and we talked and I am very lucky to have a personal and intimate tour of a city that is anything but that.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on June 21, 2010, in NEW POSTS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

