SPONTANEITY

There is something so compelling about being spontaneous and impulsive. Experiences seem more livid and intense and if my feelings could be seen in colours; a bright rainbow would emanate from my core.

Being spontaneous makes me feel alive!

It is hard to always be spontaneous, and I find the older I get, the more difficult it is to do.  So many external factors come into play, partners, children, work, study.  All things that fall in the class of responsibilities, and again the older we become, the more of these we accumulate.

I believe it is important to find the time for spontaneous adventures, in fact I believe it is imperative.

The monday just gone, I was at work, feeling a little overwhelmed, a little stressed perhaps, and in general just a little lost.  I knew I didn’t want to just go home, I didn’t know whether I wanted to go to the gym, meet a friend, or have a drink. 

What I ended up doing was texting my friend who is living in my house at the moment, a friend as spontaneous as I am.  I text her at 4:20pm and said how amazing would it be to drive to the coast, go for a quick swim, watch the sunset, maybe have a drink of wine and a walk and drive back. 

By 4:40pm, she had got changed, packed my togs, the wine, some crackers and a towel and was outside my work ready to pick me up.  We arrived at the beach at 6pm went for a quick swim, sat on the beach drinking wine and watching the sunset, and arrived back in Brisbane at 8pm. 

I can not explain, how alive and invigorated I felt, and how my troubles of the day had washed away in the ocean.   How good it felt to have someone willing to go on a mini mid-week adventure with me, and just how fabulous it is feels to be impulsive and feel unconstrained.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 24, 2010, in NEW POSTS. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. C’mon Lou – Friday drove us all to drink!!! But seriously. Your spontenity is what makes your passion so real. Keep it up. Just make sure you bring back an ounce of sand for me – so I can live vicariously!

Leave a Reply

