POSSESSIONS

When I look around my house, open my cupboards and see all the things that I own, it makes me stop and remember how little I need when I am travelling.  Why is it that when you are travelling you can comfortably live out of a suitcase for a year with limited clothes and few possessions, yet I seem to consistently fill my house up with things I really don’t need.

When I picture a fire in my house and ask myself what I would consider worthy to grab;  the only things are my photos and any jewellery that has sentimental value.  It really puts things into perspective doesn’t it?

Travelling to third world countries also serves to make you take stock of what you own, and how money and possessions really do not bring you happiness.

I made a choice a while ago, to fill my house with things that make me happy and of course, I fall victim to wanting things to look good, to design my house in a way that I feel proud of.  Yet when I have friends come to visit with children, I want them to always feel welcome, and for the children to be able to run around and not feel as though the parents of kids need to walk on eggshells.  If things get broken as they inevitably will, it doesn’t matter.

What is the point in buying special candles you will never burn, or crockery to be used on special occasions only, every occasion with loved ones is special.  Everything is replaceable.

Possessions clutter our house, and clutter our brain if we let them.  Perhaps the freedom I feel when travelling is helped by the minimal luggage and clutter I have at the time.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)

Posted on January 16, 2010, in NEW POSTS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

